top of page

October Wedding Mayhem/Bliss (It Could Go Both Ways, But Mostly Bliss)

I am still recovering from last week. We had three weddings to harvest, design, and install, and on top of that, harvested for our floral designers. It didn't really hit me on how burnt out I felt until Sunday, when I went in to harvest and setup for our final 2017 workshop while my boss installed our third wedding of the weekend.

It was a go-go-go and don't look back, look forward at your own risk, kind of week. We got through it though, and while the only thing I can seem to focus on is the amount of energy this took out of me, I take pause to scroll through my phone and realize the amount of beauty we created this week, and how immense and impactful it was. Of course, this takes me back to the milk room where we designed centerpieces, boutonnieres, corsages, and giant, airy, greenery-based arrangements throughout the week. We listened to good music, danced, sang, and worked our tails off.

It doesn't matter how tired I am, or the insecurities I feel when working alongside seasoned designers like Haley and Jakki, this job still is the best thing that has ever happened to me in my career. Even these past few days off, I've read through flower magazines, flower blogs, and put together a rosemary and strawflower square "wreath" to hang on my wall. I think about ways in which we can expand our floral design workshops, our proposals, our outreach to floral designers, and I do it without feeling like I have to, only because I want to.

This is the type of job I have always dreamed of, and while the 2017 season is coming to an end, I look forward to the dead winter of contemplation, slow life, and business-building I hope to help my boss with. I'll be broke, and probably stressed out about money because I definitely have a problem with obsessing over saving, but I know the happiness of this floral business will get me through.

For now, here are pictures of our weddings, harvests, and another trip to the dahlia farm during last week's busy, yet fruitful labors of love.

xx, Angie


bottom of page