top of page

Greens & Garland At The Lace Factory

As soon as I landed home from Denver, I went straight to work on a wedding for Jakkelyn Iris Designs at The Lace Factory in Deep River, CT.

I love this venue. I wish I could have afforded to have my wedding here, but the fact that I get to work on weddings, and bath in the fresh sunlight streaming through the windows during set-up is enough for me.

Friday, September 23 I work an early morning shift at the farm as usual starting at 7am. After being gone for a week, it's always nice to come back and see the changes to the farm. This place is always evolving, keeping farm life interesting and fresh.

Pictured below: Fresh farm bouquets made on Saturday, Sept 23

Around 1pm I head out to Killingworth to join Jakki at her studio. For the next 7 hours we work on aisle arrangements, bridesmaid bouquets, foraging for more Queen Anne's Lace in the neighbor's yard, and cleaning/getting the candles ready that will accent the beautiful garland that will lay on every table. It's a long day, but one filled with excitement and good company (it is always a pleasure to work with Jakki who runs her own business and is a wife and mother of two little boys).

On Saturday I go back to the farm for another early morning shift to harvest flowers and make bouquets for the farm stand. Haley let's me go early so I can head back to Killingworth to help another freelance designer load our cars and get to the Lace Factory for a 1pm set-up time.

Once at the Lace Factory, we get right to work on laying the garland on the tables. Fourteen feet of garland and eighteen tables. You can do the math! That's a lot of greens. For the next three hours we work tirelessly to put roses, snowberries, and ammi into the garland, and set 3 tall candles and 3 small candles per table. Once finished, the room is transformed into a garland heaven of Jakkelyn Iris magic.

I was told the bride and her family absolutely loved it! It's always nice to get good feedback from everyone involved and to know that the people who attended the wedding enjoyed the luscious florals we installed.

Cheers to another beautiful, wedding-filled weekend! Until next time..

xx,

Angie

bottom of page